Introducing Sonnie

Introducing Sonnie

Who is Sonnie ๐Ÿค”? How did I get here ๐Ÿฟ?

ยท

4 min read

About Me

Hi there ๐Ÿ‘‹

I am Nkwuda Sunday Cletus ( you can call me "Sonnie" ) , a self-taught Software Developer residing in Kaduna Nigeria.

My first exposure to software development was in the last year of senoir high school, when I became a member of a social club that taught us diferent skills including "basics of programming and web development" . After the basic tutorials, a fellow member of the club and a classmate was able to spin up his own personal blog on wordpress, everyone was so impressed and he looked like a genius to the rest of us . I so desired to do what he had done but my practical involvement was hampered by lack of a pc.

My second year in college was the first time I did real programming. Like most other engineering students, I took a course in MATLAB and another ( CSC201 ) that was basically Java Programming. We had exercises to write java codes for an ATM machine and for a vendor machine. We also simulated different electrical circuits with MATLAB & Simulink. During one of our SWEP activities ( Students Work Experience Programme ) , we were required to individually build an audio amplifier circuit capable of serving a 1000-sitters lecture theatre. We were able to use Simulink to simulate a circuit with desired outputs before building it . These was satisfying and further increased my desire to advance in software development.

In late 2019, my mind was made up to build a career in software development. I gathered all the necessary materials in HTML, CSS, and Javascript and started learning as much as I could each day. I also joined Codewars and Hackerrank to enhance my knowledge of data structures and algorithms. When I felt very confident in these skills, I started learning Reactjs and subsequently nodejs. Now almost 2 years into learning Software Development, I have made reasonable progress as a Javascript Developer . I wish to advance my knowledge in bash scripting, containerization, cloud devops ( AWS, GCP & Azure ) and serverless architecture.


My Core Values

  • Creativity
  • Curiosity
  • Determination
  • Fairness
  • Loyalty
  • Honesty

Creativity

I love Innovation and inventiveness. I believe there is no limit to what the mind can concieve, and if we can concieve it we can achieve it.

Curiosity

I am that crazy friend that wants to know the "why" of everything. I'm curious to a fault and I don't try to tune it down because I know it's been instrumental to my learning expeditions and versatility. I don't believe in letting things slide, especially the wonders of enginnering.

Determination

I don't take "no" for an answer, once I've made up my mind on something I like to see the end of it. I believe whatever is worth doing is worth doing well, and you "can" if you believe.

Fairness

For me, fairness is sancrosact. I believe in merit and not favouritism, and I advocate justice and equiity. For me, as long as there is justice and fairness, it doesn't matter whose ox is gored.

Loyalty

I believe in commitment to great ideologies, commitment to contracts, and commitment to relationships. I won't accept a self-serving optimization that will favour my interests at the detriment of our friendship

Honesty

For me, honesty is the best policy, if you would be honest, you won't have to think of what to say. Keeping it real reduces the burden. No one is perfect, we all have our flaws.

My motivation to join Outreachy

outreachy-logo-1.png

My foremost motivation to join Outreachy was that it will afford me the opportunity to grow under free mentorship while at the same time paying me a substantial stipend. For me, that was very attractive. However during contribution, I so fell in love with the idea of open source involvement that it became the only thing I cared about. I loved and loves the idea of contributing to massive softwares such as operating systems. When I got involved with Debian, I loved the prestige and the responsiveness of the community. It was like the best place to be on earth. I prayed day and night not just to get selected, but for this project. When I got selected for Debian, it was like the first time I really felt the joy of a granted desire. I feel so good about the situation because I have found a FOSS community I would stick with for long.

ย